Previous events

Our musicians (pianist Kyle P. Walker, violinists Beatrice Hsieh and Jay Julio, violist Kayla Williams, and cellist Mosa Tsay) will be presenting Florence Price's masterwork Piano Quintet in A Minor, paired with a community play-in of "our streets", by composer-multi-instrumentalist Yaz Lancaster, whose "stunner of a quartet" (Washington Post) in Neutral Objects was premiered in long form by Sound Off last year.

Florence Price: Quintet in A Minor

Yaz Lancaster: our streets

$5 to reserve, $10+ at event

Lenapehoking: Music by Brent Michael Davids

Brooklyn Public Library

The Dream Unfinished orchestra presents a portrait concert of works by contemporary composer Brent Michael Davids. Davids is a highly acclaimed concert and film composer, co-director of the Lenape Center in New York City, and an American Indian citizen of the Stockbridge-Munsee Band of the Mohican Nation. As an American Indian music specialist, Davids is in demand as educator and consultant for films, television, schools, festivals, seminars and workshops. He is a master performer of American Indian instruments and styles, and a designer of original musical instruments, including traditional Native American instruments that he reconceives and reinvents, including a soprano quartz flute (1989), bass quartz flute (1991), and a dozen other percussion devices that chirp or whistle.

Presented in conjunction with the Lenapehoking exhibition at Greenpoint Library. It is the first Lenape-curated exhibition of Lenape cultural arts, both historic and contemporary, in the City of New York.

“Lenapehoking" is the Lenape name for the Lenape homeland, which spans from Western Connecticut to Eastern Pennsylvania, and the Hudson Valley to Delaware, with New York City at its center.


Wilson Live, 637 Wilson Ave, Brooklyn, NY

DARA + KYLE are 2021 recipients of the Chamber Music America Ensemble Forward Grant.

Cello Sonata, Op.5 - Dame Ethyl Smyth

II. Adagio non troppo

Cello Sonata - George Walker (for cello and piano)

  1. Allegro passionato

II. Sostenuto

III. Allegro


Cello Sonata No.5, Op.102 No.2 - Ludwig van Beethoven

  1. Allegro con brio

II. Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto – Attacca

III. Allegro – Allegro fugato

Tickets $10 at door

Bach to BlackNotes

(EST, UTC-05) (EST, UTC-05)

Virtual Groupmuse

Bach to BlackNotes juxtaposes some of the most well-known and respected solo keyboard music of J.S. Bach with wonderful music which has unfortunately fallen through the cracks of music history. Join Kyle on this exploration in history through a different lens.

Featuring music of J.S. Bach juxtaposed with music of George Walker, Florence Price, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Margaret Bonds, and Calvin Taylor

Suggested donations

PROGRAM William Grant Still Ennanga for Harp, Strings, and Piano Nkeiru Okoye We Met at the Symphony for Soprano and String Quartet (World Premiere) David Baker Through This Vale of Tears for Tenor, Piano, and Strings

FEATURING Terrance McKnight, Host Leah Hawkins, Soprano Chauncey Packer, Tenor Ashley Jackson, Harp Kyle P. Walker, Piano Ashley Horne, Violin Sandra Billingslea, Violin William Frampton, Viola Wayne Smith, Cello

$20 General Admission $15 Student/Senoir Discount only available if you purchase in advance online.

Unknown Spirituals

Streamed Online

A Tribute to the Concert Spiritual

Denisha Ballew, Soprano Charles Williamson, Tenor Samuel McDonald, Baritone Kyle P. Walker, piano